CU Anywhere
LoginHelpDemo
Hot News

 

 

Scam Alerts

 
5 April 2011 - NACHA Phishing:

NACHA - The Electronic Payments Association has received reports that individuals and/or companies have received a fraudulent email that has the appearance of having been sent from NACHA and signed by a non-existent NACHA employee. Specifically, this email claims to be from the “Electronic Payments Association” and appears to be coming from the email address "payments@nacha.org.” See a sample of the email below.

Be aware that phishing emails frequently have attachments and/or links to Web pages that host malicious code and software. Do not open attachments or follow Web links in unsolicited emails from unknown parties or from parties with whom you do not normally communicate, or that appear to be known but are suspicious or otherwise unusual.
 
NACHA itself does not process nor touch the ACH transactions that flow to and from organizations and financial institutions. NACHA does not send communications to individuals or organizations about individual ACH transactions that they originate or receive.
 
If malicious code is detected or suspected on a computer, consult with a computer security or anti-virus specialist to remove malicious code or re-install a clean image of the computer system.
 
Always use anti-virus software and ensure that the virus signatures are automatically updated.
 
Ensure that the computer operating systems and common software applications security patches are installed and current. 
 
Be alert for different variations of fraudulent emails.

                = = = = = Sample Email = = = = = =
            From:payments@nacha.org [mailto:payments@nacha.org]
            Sent: Tuesday, February 22, 2011 7:32 AM
            To: Doe, John
            Subject: ACH transaction rejected

            The ACH transaction, recently sent from your checking account
            (by you or any other person), was cancelled by the 
            Electronic Payments Association.

            Please click here to view report
           ------------------------------------------------------------------

            Otto Tobin,
            Risk Manager
Members have reported receiving calls from an automated system with the number (843) 884-6884 stating that their card has been suspended and to press '1' to speak with someone. The company calling is Merchant Cooperative - it is a scam attempting to get critical card information from you. Do not give provide any personal information.
 
CCCU does use a fraud reporting service to notify you when we suspect your debit or credit card has been fraudulently used. To learn more about our authorized service, click here.
 
 
3 December 2010
Adobe Acrobat Reader Spam eMail
 
 
There is an email going around that says it is from Adobe and has a link to download the latest Adobe Acrobate Reader. This is not a valid email or download. Abode does not send out emails to update to the latest version. Adobe has listed this as a SPAN/PHISHING email on their web site.
 
If you download this from the link in the SPAM/PHISHING email, it may prevent you from accessing CCCU E-Statements. If this happened to you already. you are advised to remove Adobe Acrobat Reader and run a Virus Scan.
 
Here is a link for the official Adobe Acrobate Reader, which you will then need.
-30-

 

Notice to members: Clark County Credit Union does not send out text messages or emails asking our members to reply with any personal information. You should never send out personal information in an email or Text Message.
 
If you would like to learn more on avoiding phishing scams, use the resources:
Quiz - Phishing or not?
 

April 13, 2010: Members have reported receiving calls from an automated system with the number (843) 884-6884 stating that their card has been suspended and to press '1' to speak with someone. The company calling is Merchant Cooperative - it is a scam attempting to get critical card information from you. Do not give provide any personal information.
 
CCCU does use a fraud reporting service to notify you when we suspect your debit or credit card has been fraudulently used. To learn more about our authorized service, click here.
 
September 17, 2009: Phishing email appears to be from Intuit advising recipients to update account information by clicking a link that goes to a fraudulent web site. Intuit did not send this email, and a copy of the e-mail is below for your information:

Example phishing e-mail (Some versions may vary)    
Subject: NECESSARY SECURITY TOOL
 
Due to increased security measures our organization developed a tool for secured access to the web-site. You should follow these steps:
- download the tool click here [fraudulent link removed]
- install it on your PC
In case you don't install this tool within two weeks from the moment of receiving this notification you will be denied access to services provided by our organization.

We are here to support. We want to do everything we can to get you up and running. To contact us, or to view Frequently Asked Questions, please click here. Going forward, you can also click support at the bottom of any page or call us at 800-624-1465. (Don't respond to this email; it was sent from an address that can't accept incoming email.)
Best regards,
The Intuit Online team
________________________________________
This email is sent to confirm you have signed up for Intuit Online . If you have chosen to opt out of Intuit marketing, that preference only applies to marketing email and not notices regarding your subscription or trial.
© 2008 Intuit Inc. All rights reserved. Intuit, the Intuit Logo, and QuickBooks are registered trademarks and/or registered service marks of Intuit Inc. in the United States and other countries. All other marks are the property of their respective owners, should be treated as such, and may be registered in various jurisdictions.
Intuit, Inc., Customer Communications 2800 E. Commerce Center Place, Tucson, AZ 85706 

August 2009 - Residents in Las Vegas have received letters from "Property Tax Review Board" claiming to be able to reduce your property taxes for a $189 fee. We encourage any members considering this program to read the Las Vegas Sun article titled "Nev. AG warns of ‘Property Tax Review Board’ offer" accessible by clicking here. Also, the Las Vegas Review-Journal published "Officials spot property tax mailer scam" on August 21, 2009.

April 2009 - CCCU was notified of a scam in Clark County that exploits the elderly. Elderly victims are approached by a gentleman who introduces himself as a neighbor's relative. He tells his victim that the neighbor is in the hospital and that he needs cash to help them out. The scammer then accompanies the senior citizen to am ATM, where the victim withdraws their funds for the suspect, believing they will be repaid by the neighbor. Previous victims have lost anywhere between $2,300 and up to $21,500. There is an open investigation in Clark Count, and Police departments in Phoenix and the greater Los Angeles area have similar open cases involving the same suspect.

On February 13, 2009 members reported receiving text messages that their debit card(s) had been suspended and to call a toll-free number to reactivate. CCCU did not send this message - it is a scam. If you have replied to the text, please call us at (702) 228-2228 to protect your account.

On January 22, 2009, the credit union received several reports that members were receiving Text Messages on their cell phone asking them for information regarding their home banking account.
 
Clark County Credit Union does not send out text messages to members about home banking. This is a SCAM (PHISH Text Message ).
 
There were also reports that some members received a Phishing Email purporting to be from CCCU as well. If you believe you have received a fraudulent email, forward a copy of the email to service@ccculv.com